The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences tonight honored 15 student winners from colleges and universities around the world at the 42nd Student Academy Awards ceremony, held at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.  The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards were announced and presented by actors Michelle Rodriguez and Jason Mitchell, Oscar®-winning director John Lasseter, and the Oscar-winning team behind the animated feature “Big Hero 6,” Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams.

The 2015 Student Academy Award® winners are:


Gold: “Chiaroscuro,” Daniel Drummond, Chapman University, California

Silver: “Zoe,” ChiHyun Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York


Gold: “Soar,” Alyce Tzue, Academy of Art University, San Francisco

Silver: “An Object at Rest,” Seth Boyden, California Institute of the Arts

Bronze: “Taking the Plunge,” Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, The School of

Visual Arts


Gold: “Looking at the Stars,” Alexandre Peralta, University of Southern California

Silver: “I Married My Family’s Killer,” Emily Kassie, Brown University

Bronze: “Boxeadora,” Meg Smaker, Stanford University


Gold: “Day One,” Henry Hughes, American Film Institute, California

Silver: “This Way Up,” Jeremy Cloe, American Film Institute

Bronze: “Stealth,” Bennett Lasseter, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

Gold: “Fidelity,” Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany

Silver: “The Last Will,” Dustin Loose, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Bronze: “Everything Will Be Okay” Patrick Vollrath, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work.  Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 47 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards.  They include Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis.

# # #